TestVision 2020 - Award

Best ATE Paper Award

To spotlight advances in ATE TestVision and the Test Technology Technical Council (TTTC) created the Best ATE Paper Award. The purpose of this award is to single out and publicize the most influential ATE paper of the year to stimulate innovation in the ATE industry. The winner is announced at Test Vision at SEMICON West.

2018 Award Finalists

Our finalists for the Best ATE Paper Paper of 2018 are:

  • Innovative Approach to MEMS Contactor, Norihiro Ohta and Pete Rogan, presented at 2018 BiTS
  • Methodology for Measuring and Characterizing 28 Gbps+ SERDES Sockets, Sandeep Sankararaman and Noel Del Rio, presented at 2018 BiTS
  • A Coherent Subsampling Test System Arrangement Suitable for Phase Domain Measurements, Young Gouk Cho, Gordon Roberts, Sadok Aouini, Mahdi Parvizi , Naim Ben-Hamida, presented at 2018 VTS

The Best ATE Paper Award Selection Committee appreciates and relies upon inputs from the technical community when naming the Best ATE Paper.  

Test Vision Symposium at SEMICON West 2019 will be held on July 10-11 at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, California.

The recipient(s) of the Best ATE Paper of 2018 award will be announced at the Test Vision Symposium Day 1 session on July 10, 2019.

2018 Award Recipients for Best ATE Paper of 2017:

Nimit Jain, Nitin Agarwal, Rajavelu Thinakaran and Rubin Parekhji
"Low Cost Dynamic Error Detection in Linearity Testing of SAR ADCs"
Presented at the 2017 International Test Conference; Fort Worth, Texas; October 2017

Past Award Recipients:

2017: ETS 2016 - "Test-station For Flexible Semi-Automatic Wafer-Level Silicon Photonics Testing," Jeroen De Coster et al.
2016: BiTS 2015 - "Designing Sockets for Ludicrous Speed (80 GHz)," Don Thompson and Jose Moreira. The authors showed how they constructed an interface for ATE capable of testing 80 GHz signals.
2015: ITC 2014 - "3A Novel RF Self TEst for a Combo SoC on Digital ATE with Multi-Site Applications,"  CH Peng, et al. The team showed how they used low cost ATE to test an extremely cost sensitive RFIC, while achieving the same bin results as a full performance, high cost ATE System.
2014: ITC 2013 - "30-Gb/s Optical and electrical Test Solution for High-Volume Testing,"  Daisuke Watanabe et al. The first paper presenting an optical-electrical test system suitable for production testing.
2012: I²MTC 2011 - "Reducing THD in an Audio Test Instrument," Sol Max & Richard Liggiero. Awarded for its originality, innovation, intrinsic merit, and effective communication to the audience.
2011: ITC 2010 - "A High Desnity Small Size RF Test Module for High Throughput Multiple Resource Testing"  (slides) the authors did an excellent job of integrating RF test instrumentation to achieve small packaging.  The paper clearly explains the challenges faced, the approaches taken, and the results achieved.  Any ATE engineer interested in building RF instrumentation will find this paper fascinating.

Award Selection Committee

  • Benjamin Brown (Chair), Xcerra
  • Dave Armstrong, Advantest
  • Dr. Erik Larsson, Lund University
  • Dieu Van Dinh, NXP
  • Ken Lanier, Teradyne
  • Professor Gordon Roberts, McGill University
  • Michael Peters, Elmos
  • Paul Berndt, Microsoft

The recipient(s) of the Best ATE Paper of 2018 award will be announced at Test Vision Symposium @ SEMICON West 2019.

TestVision 2020 Award Icon