European SEMI Award

European SEMI Award 2018

Each year since 1989, the European SEMI Award is presented to a person or team who has made a significant contribution to the European semiconductor, micro-systems, photovoltaic, and display industries.

We encourage you to nominate an eligible candidate. This award, which demonstrates the industry's high esteem for the recipient, will be presented at the ISS Europe conference to be held in 2019.

If you know of a person or a group who has made a significant contribution to the semiconductor equipment and/or materials industry, please submit your nominations by 16 September 2018.

European SEMI Award Guidelines (including: Eligibility, Selection Criteria, Areas for Consideration)

To nominate a person or a team for the European SEMI Award, please use this Nomination Form

Alternate Nomination Form (pdf) 


Association Contact:
Christina Fritsch
SEMI Europe
Tel: +49 30 3030 8077 18



European SEMI Award 2017 Honors RF-SOI Technology Innovators:
Bernard Aspar, Executive Vice President, Communication & Power BU at Soitec and Jean-Pierre Raskin, professor at UCL
SEMI Special Service Award goes to ECSEL’s Andreas Wild

DUBLIN, Ireland ─ March 6, 2018 ─ SEMI today announced recipients of the 2017 European SEMI Award at the SEMI Industry Strategy Symposium (ISS Europe 2018), recognizing their seminal work with radio frequency silicon-on-insulator (RF-SOI) substrates. The award winners’ pioneering research and collaboration with academia and industry led to major advances in RF switches and ushered RF-SOI technology from concept to worldwide adoption. Today, advanced RF-SOI technology powers a wide range of applications and systems in areas including mobile devices, satellite communications, Internet of Things (IoT), automotive radar and aerospace. The European SEMI Award winners were nominated and selected by their peers within the international semiconductor community.

>> Read the full Press Release

From the left: Laith Altimime, president SEMI Europe, with European Award winners,
Jean-Pierre Raskin, UCL, Dr. Andreas Wild, ECSEL, Bernard Aspar, Soitec and
Mart  Graef, TU Delft, chairman of the Award Committee.

“With its focus on winning in the global marketplace, ISS Europe is the ideal stage for recognizing the leadership excellence and technical and strategic contributions that led to critical advances in our industry,” said SEMI Europe president Laith Altimime. “We are proud to honor Bernard Aspar, Jean-Pierre Raskin and Andreas Wild as European SEMI Award winners.”



SEMI European Award Recipients

  • 2017: Bernard Aspar, Soitec; Jean-Pierre Raskin, UCL
  • 2017: Special Service Award: Dr. Andreas Wild, executive director, ECSEL
  • 2016: Rolf Aschenbrenner, Fraunhofer IZM, Eric Beyne, imec and Gilles Poupon, CEA-LETI  
  • 2015: Paul Lindner, EV Group
  • 2014: Albert Theuwissen, CEO, Harvest Imaging
  • 2013: Benedetto Vigna, STMicroelectronics
  • 2012: Dr. Franz Auerbach, Dr. Gerald Deboy, Dr. Hans Weber und Dr. Reinhard Ploss, Infineon
  • 2011: Tibor Pavelka, Semilab
  • 2010: Herbert Reichl, Fraunhofer Institut IZM
  • 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award: Peter Woditsch, Deutsche Solar
  • 2009: Holger Juergensen, Aixtron
  • 2009 Special Service Award: Enrico Villa, STMicroelectronics
  • 2008: Gilbert Declerck, IMEC
  • 2007: Michael Toepper, Fraunhofer IZM
  • 2006: Martin van den Brink, ASML and Winfried Kaiser, Carl Zeiss.
  • 2006 Special Service Award: Sir Robin Saxby, ARM
  • 2005: Dr Horst Reichardt, DAS
  • 2004: Dr Tuomo Suntola
  • 2003: Dr Carola Bläsing, Leica.
  • 2003 Special Service Award: Joël Monnier, STMicroelectronics
  • 2002: Franz Sumnitsch, SEZ
  • 2001: Robert Falster, MEMC
  • 2000: Dr. Peter Kücher and Horia Grecu, Semiconductor 300
  • 2000 Special Service Award: Willem Maris, ASML
  • 1999: Dr.André-Jacques Auberton-Hervé, Soitec. Michel Bruel, CEA-LETI
  • 1998: Karl Nicklaus, ESEC
  • 1997 Hans-Georg Betz, STEAG. Diethard Huber, Wacker Siltronic
  • 1996: Dr Peter Eichinger, GeMeTec.
  • 1996 Special Service Award: Eric Kamerbeek, ASMI
  • 1995: Bruno Murari, ST Microelectronics
  • 1994: Prof. Dr. Roger Van Overstraeten, IMEC
  • 1993: Heinrich Walk, AST
  • 1992: Dr Winfried Süss, Karl Süss
  • 1992 Special Service Award: Guilio Grata, European Commission
  • 1991: Jacques Trotel, Elisa
  • 1990: Dr. Steve Wittekoek, ASML
  • 1989: Prof. Dr Jürgen Warnecke, Fraunhofer Institut



SEMI Award Imge

SEMI Award Imge 2

SEMI Award Image 3